Call for Papers

 The 20th Annual Conference of the European Society for the History of Economic Thought (ESHET) will take place in Paris, at University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, 26-28 May 2016. Proposals for papers or sessions on all aspects of the history of economic thought are welcome. An abstract of about 400 words for a paper and 600 words for a session should be submitted on the conference website (Submission & Registration) no later than January 18th, 2016.

Note that: a) published papers are not eligible for submission; b) only one conference presentation is allowed per person (but more than one submission may be accepted, if involving co-authors who are also presenting); c) session proposals must conform with a standard format (3 papers, 90 min).

Particularly welcome are proposals of papers and sessions that fall into the ESHET 2016 conference theme: “Inequalities in Economic Thought”. However, papers may be on any topic relevant to the history of economic thought, and are not restricted to the conference theme.

Inequalities in Economic Thought

Recent controversies over the growing degree of inequality in contemporary societies have brought the topic to the fore in economics. The history of economic thought shows, however, that for a long time economists have taken inequalities into account, debating at length their causes, their nature, their potentially positive or negative influence and the possible ways to overcome them. 

The issues of inequalities confirm the ESHET’s firm belief that the study of the history of economic thought should in no way be disconnected from current issues in economics and beyond, and could in fact help provide historical perspectives on standard views about the subject.
Special attention is granted to proposalsthat have come across economic thought concerning inequalities throughout its history. Such debates include for example:

• Issues on discrimination related to sex/age/race
• The relations between inequalities and justice
• Inequalities and efficiency
• Inequalities and economic development
• Historical perspectives on the measure of inequalities


The ESHET invites young scholars -- persons currently enrolled in a PhD, or who have been awarded a PhD no more than two years prior to May 2016 -- to submit their work to the Young Scholars Seminarto be held on the occasion of the ESHET Conference.
Please, include documentation of your (and your co-authors) position vis à vis your PhD, and indicate in the Subject of your e-mail: for YoungScholars Seminar. Co-authored papers are accepted if and only if the co-author is a young Scholar according to the definition given above.

Up to six submissions will be selected: ESHET will cover travel expenses up to €300, accommodation costs up to €80/night for three nights, and the registration fee. Moreover, the authors will be invited to the gala dinner. The authors of the elected papers will have 20 minutes each to present the paper, and a senior scholar will discuss it. Like in current sessions, papers may be on any topic relevant to the history of economic thought, and are not restricted to the conference theme.

A one-year ESHET membership is offered to all young scholars who submit a paper to the Young Scholars seminars. Papers that have not been selected will be considered for presentation at other conference sessions, if you specify in your email that you intend to participate in the conference even if you do not succeed in getting the grant.

Only full-papers will be taken into consideration for the applications to the Young Scholars Seminar. Candidates should e-mail a paper no longer than 9000 words to Professors Richard Sturn( and Annalisa Rosselli ( by February 20th, 2016. Authors will be notified about the result of the selection process by April 1st, 2016.

The Scientific Committee:
Laurie Bréban, University of Paris 8 (LED)
José Luis Cardoso, Institute of Social Sciences, University of Lisbon
Loïc Charles, University of Paris 8 (LED)
Annie Cot, University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne (CES)
André Lapidus, University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne (PHARE)
Nathalie Sigot, University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne (PHARE)
Richard Van Den Berg, Kingston University